Akhri sida aduunku wax uga qoray farmaajo /Somali MPs elect former PM, Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo, as new president


Waa kuma madaxweyne Farma

Somalia: Ex-prime minister wins presidential race

Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo has been sworn in as Somalia’s new president. Twenty-one candidates took part in the poll, which had been delayed several times.

Image captionFarmaajo

Ra’iisal wasaarihii hore ee Soomaaliya Maxamed Cabdullaahi Farmaajo ayaa loo doortay madaxweyne ka dib markii Xasan Sheekh uu qirtay guul darro markii uu dhammaaday wareegii labaad ee codbixinta. Haddba waa kuma Farmaajo?

Somali MPs elect former PM, Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo, as new president

Somali MPs elect former PM, Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo, as new president


Somalia has a new president in the person of Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo. Farmajo, a former Prime Minister was declared the winner of the polls after incumbent Hassan Sheikh Mohamud conceded just when the process was about to enter a final round. He was immediately sworn into office in the presence of the parliamentarians – from Upper and Lower houses of the legislature.

His victory means Somalia maintains the culture of electing a new President at each election. Farmajo got 184 votes against Hassan Sheikh’s 95 votes. A third candidate secured 45 votes. He will now handle affairs of the state for the next four years. Somalia hopes to be able to conduct a normal universal adult suffrage vote by the next polls slated for 2020.

Hassan Sheikh won the first round of votes which saw the original number of 21 candidates pruned to four. Out of that number, PM Sharmake also dropped out citing interference in the process. He however tasked electors to vote for change – a sign that he was not backing the candidature of Hassan Sheikh.

Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo declared new President of , winning with 184 votes, Hassan Sheikh 97 and Sheikh Shariff 46.

About Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed ‘Farmajo’

The one-time prime minister under former president Ahmed, Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed, entered the race after failing to win the election in 2012 despite his popularity.

He served as a prime minister for less than a year before he was forced to resign under a deal supported by the population who protested when he refused initially.